The Apostolic Succession

Die Apostolische Nachfolge

The Apostolic Succession

Welcome! These informations offer you an overview to the structures of the Holy Roman Church and its cardinals, archbishops, bishops, auxiliary bishops in the dioceses of the world as well as the prefects, presidents, secretaries of the curia.


This Website was firstly published on May 1, 2003 in Germany and latest actualized on March 30, 2021.


Here you can find the titulars of the ecclesiastical circumscriptions of the Holy Roman Church since 1842 in . . .

  1. Africa
  2. America (Central-)
  3. America (North-)
  4. America (South-: Argentinia up to Brazil)
  5. America (South-: Ecuador up to Venezuela)
  6. Asia (Afghanistan up to Jordan)
  7. Asia (K [Cambodia] up to Z [Cyprus])
  8. Australia and Oceania
  9. Europe (Albania up to Ireland)
  10. Europe (Italy)
  11. Europe (Kosovo up to W [Belarus])
  12. the Roman Curia
  13. Apostolic Nunciatures and Delegations
  14. the Papal Diplomacy (Persons A – C)
  15. the Papal Diplomacy (Persons D – L)
  16. the Papal Diplomacy (Persons M – Q)
  17. the Papal Diplomacy (Persons R – Z)
  18. Synod of Bishops and Bishop’s Conferences
  19. Titular Sees
  20. Clandestine Bishops.

Other topics:

  1. The diplomatic corps at the Holy See
  2. The length of the pontificates of the Supreme Pontiffs
  3. Saints, Blessed and Servants of God.

New Appointments and Necrology (1841/1842 – 2021)

The College of Cardinals


Photo Gallery



Roman Days


Guide to English speaking Visitors

At several places of this website you will find links leading you to other homepages within the internet. Besides the circumstance these links were chosen carefully, in no case the author  can be made responsible for the contents of linked pages; he has no influence on design or  topics of linked websites. If you should find a page of doubtfull contents, please notify your opinion to the author  to allow him  to check whether  this link should be removed.

Impressum   The Author